

Selected power stations in Aotearoa New Zealand

KEY

- Hydropower station
- ♠ Fossil fuel power station
- Bioenergy power station
- **⊕** Geothermal power station
- **★ Wind power station**
- Solar power station
- ` HVDC cable

Notes: Includes the six biggest producing hydropower stations, and at least one of the largest generators using other types of power.

All rivers are schematic; highlighted rivers provide most of our hydropower.

Both the pulp and paper mill and the power station at Whirinaki generate electricity.

Wind farm icon by Vectors Lab; solar farm icon by The Icon Z; both from the Noun Project.

Redvale
Landfill

Waikato River

Huntly

Kinleith

Maraetai

Ngā Awa Pūrua

Te Mihi

Stratford

Whirinaki

Tararua

Turitea

Haywards

substation

Wairau Valley

