Our People

National Executive


The Executive Committee leads and manages the New Zealand Association of Science Educators (Incorporated) in accordance with the constitution and the policy set by the Council. Please feel free to contact any of these people to ask about the Association, the benefits of membership, or our conferences:

President

Sam York

James Hargest College, Invercargill

Email Sam at syork@jameshargest.school.nz

 

 

 

Senior Vice President

Sarah HaySarah Hay
Iona College, Havelock North
Email Sarah on sarah.hay@iona.school.nz

 

 

 

Treasurer

Colin North
Waiuku College, Waiuku
Email Colin on northcolin@hotmail.com

 

 

 

Special Project Executive Positions


Healthy and Safety Representative

Sabina Cleary
Senior Advisor
Kaha Education
M: 027 5242555
Email Sabina on sabina@kahaeducation.co.nz

 

Publications Liaison Manager and Regional Liaison

Gerard Harrigan
Freyberg High School Palmerston North
Ph: 06 358 4971
Email Gerard on HarriganG@freyberg.ac.nz

 

Website Manager

Sarah Hay
Iona College, Havelock North
Email Sarah on sarah.hay@iona.school.nz

 

 

NZASE Administrator


Donna Sellers

Email Donna on nzase@xtra.co.nz

 

NZASE Science Communicators


Mike Stone

Email Mike on nzasecomms@gmail.com

 

 

 

 

 

Jenny Rankine

Email Jenny on nzasecomms@gmail.com

 

 

 

 

 


The Council


The Council governs the Association. The annual meeting of the Council is held to:

  • Receive and consider the annual report of the Executive for the preceding financial year.
  • Receive and consider the audited financial report and accounts for the preceding financial year.
  • Receive reports on membership, finance and their activities from Branches.
  • Fix the membership subscription fee for the following financial year.
  • Appoint an auditor.
  • Transact any other business of which due notice has been given.

Standing Committees


Biology Educators’ Association of New Zealand (BEANZ) Chantal Hillier nchantal.hillier@gmail.com
biologynz@gmail.com
Earth and Space Science (ESSE) Jenny Pollock jenny.pollock2@gmail.com
Secondary Chemistry Educators of NZ (SCENZ) Murray Thompson

Ian Torrie

New Zealand Institute of Physics (NZIP) David Housden dhousden@xtra.co.nz
Primary Science (NZAPSE) Sandy Jackson s.jackson@kings.school.nz
Science Technicians’ Association of New Zealand (STANZ) Monique Arts, President STANZ monique.arts@jpc.school.nz