Our People

National Executive


The Executive Committee leads and manages the New Zealand Association of Science Educators (Incorporated) in accordance with the constitution and the policy set by the Council. Please feel free to contact any of these people to ask about the Association, the benefits of membership, or our conferences:

President

Sarah Hay
St Peter’s School, Cambridge
Email Sarah

 

 

 

Senior Vice President

Chris Duggan
House of Science, Tauranga
Email Chris

 

 

 

 

Treasurer, Website Manager

Colin North
Waiuku College, Waiuku
Email Colin

 

 

Special Project Executive Positions


Healthy and Safety Representative

Sabina Cleary
Senior Advisor
Kaha Education
M: 027 5242555
Email Sabina

 

Publications Liaison Manager and Regional Liaison

Gerard Harrigan
Freyberg High School Palmerston North
Ph: 06 358 4971
Email Gerard

NZASE Administrator


Donna Sellers

nzase@xtra.co.nz

The Council


The Council governs the Association. The annual meeting of the Council is held to:

  • Receive and consider the annual report of the Executive for the preceding financial year.
  • Receive and consider the audited financial report and accounts for the preceding financial year.
  • Receive reports on membership, finance and their activities from Branches.
  • Fix the membership subscription fee for the following financial year.
  • Appoint an auditor.
  • Transact any other business of which due notice has been given.

Standing Committees


Biology Educators’ Association of New Zealand (BEANZ) Sharyn Varcoe va@riccarton.school.nz
biologynz@gmail.com
Earth and Space Science (ESSE) Jenny Pollock jenny.pollock@xtra.co.nz
New Zealand Institute of Chemistry (NZIC) Suzanne Boniface Suzanne.Boniface@vuw.ac.nz
New Zealand Institute of Physics (NZIP) David Housden dhousden@xtra.co.nz
Primary Science (NZAPSE) John Marsh johnm@tauranga-int.school.nz
Science Technicians’ Association of New Zealand (STANZ) Monique Arts, President STANZ monique.arts@jpc.school.nz

Regional Branches


Auckland Science Teachers’ Association (ASTA) Carolyn Haslam c.haslam@auckland.ac.nz

Ph: 096238899 x 83918

Mobile: 021709146

Canterbury Branch Jenna Wilson wjj@cashmere.school.nz
Capital City Branch Kerry Parker kerry.parker@whs.school.nz
Central Northland Branch Hazel McIntosh h.mcintosh@actrix.co.nz
CASE Gerard Harrigan HarriganG@freyberg.ac.nz
East Coast Branch Sally Willock sallywk@clear.net.nz
Nelson Branch Jenny Pollock jenny.pollock@xtra.co.nz
Northland Branch
Otago Branch Pru Casey pru.casey@gmail.com
Southland Branch Tania Lineham Tlineham@jameshargest.school.nz
Waikato Branch Fiona Murphy fmurphy@shgcham.school.nz
West Coast Branch Stephen Dorey stephen.dorey@buller.ac.nz